top of page
Gabrielle

Jonas Brothers

One of my favorite concerts this year was the Jonas Brothers on their Happiness Begins Tour. To see Nick Jonas live was definitely on my bucket list, but since their recent reunion, I got the opportunity to see them all, better for me. I have heard of them since their Disney days: Camp Rock series and Jonas LA. However, I became a fan during Nick's solo career. I immediately jumped at the opportunity to see him in concert and enjoyed the fact I would see them all together again.


The concert was at Allstate Arena on December 3rd in Chicago. We got in on time and went up the stairs to take our seats. The show was supposed to start at 7:30, but it started a couple of minutes later. We listened to Bebe Rexha as she opened for the Jonas Brothers with 'Meant to be' and 'Call You Mine.' The most fun part of her whole performance was when she pulled someone from the audience to come on stage with her and dance; it was super fun to watch. Afterward, we got a little bored with the wait during the intermission.


After waiting another few minutes, they turned the lights off, and we finally started gaining little enthusiasm. An intro video played on the big screen, and the brothers then emerged from the ceiling, standing on a platform. They opened with my favorite Rollercoaster. Afterward, they began singing S.O.S and kept the high energy of the crowd. I was happy they were making some of their old hits with new music; it kept the original audience engaged. It was finally time for them to revert to their album music and perform Cool & Only Human, and to be honest, Cool sounds ten times better live. After only performing four songs, Joe gave a welcome speech to Chicago; then they played Strangers and two old songs. The first set ended with What A Man Gotta Do, which was their radio hit single.


When they came back, they were signing, singing Used To Be, and walking through the crowd to the middle stage (I am calling it B-stage). On the B-stage, Joe sung Gotta Find You from Camp Rock times. Afterward, they sang Hesitate together, and Joe and Kevin departed so Joe can sign his hit single Jealous. For those few moments, it was as quiet as could be at a sold out concert. For the second half, Nick walked back to the main stage to meet Kevin and Joe. Joe then sang Cake by the Ocean, confetti and flying balloon men were everywhere, which concluded the second set.


The Jonas Brothers started the final set with their song Comeback. Kevin played the grand piano. The third set's central theme was nostalgia and love songs like When You Look Me In The Eyes, and I Believe. I think everyone's favorite is Lovebug and their rock-pop Year 3000. Afterward, they left the stage.


The encore came as a shock but, overall, the highlight of the night. They played one of my favorite songs, Burnin Up, and I was honestly waiting for Nick to say 'Red Dress,' but it never came. During Burnin Up, the whole stage was golden with fire everywhere. The last song of the night was their reunion lead single, Sucker.


*I made a playlist on Apple Music that has all the songs they played on that tour.


The playlist to the left are the same songs played throughout the concert. The picture is from Pinterest.


During the concert their setlist was satisfying. I wish Nick had said "red dress" in Burnin Up, but maybe another time. I loved the merch they were selling to the fans, I brought the black large t-shirt with the brothers sitting in the car.


Even though the concert started a couple of minutes late, we actually made it out on time.


It all felt like a dream! I am glad the brothers are back and cannot wait to see the other things they have in store.




Comments


bottom of page