top of page
Gabrielle

Not all hero's wear capes!


We used to wake up, go to school or work, and hang out with our friends, family, and lovers. We would eat out, go to the movies, and travel. That all changed when as of March 13, someone grounded the world to our houses for a forever extending period. So much fear and devastation flooded the earth. The amount of loss and sadness was hard to swallow. I am still trying to come to terms with this sadness.


As of May 4, there are 3.58M confirmed cases worldwide. It is unbelievable, and how fast this is spreading. I have been self-quarantining since March 13, I have cleaned my room four times this week, I have witnessed my mom put on two layers of clothing, a mask, and gloves before heading out to the store every week. Did you know you now wipe down packages before opening? You have just to assume the virus is everywhere to be extra careful.


When I used to go out with my friends, I remember we would stay out for hours. I remember going to the movies and concerts and feeling alive. Taking thousands of pictures with my best friends. I look through those photos every day, remembering the good old days because that's what they are, and I think Macklemore and Kesha said it best that, "I wish somebody would have told me that these would be the good old days, and someday soon your whole life will change." This pandemic is the worst thing that this world has faced this year. But it has made me think, look around, and work. I have so much time to start something unique, to work on myself. I've worked out, started a blog, cleaned my room, and learned I could cook. No, I'm not happy this is what had to happen for me to do this, but I am trying to find the silver lining; like Dumbledore said, "Happiness can be found, even in the darkest of places, if only one remembers to turn on the light."


Start, Try, Learn, Teach. Pick up something and try it because this is our world now that we have to adapt to and live in now. Here are some things:

  • Watching new movies and starting new TV shows (I am watching Grey's Anatomy)

  • ​Starting a new hobby or activity you've wanted to try - now's the time to do it!

  • Try Reading!

  • Online shopping (trying to minimize that as much as possible, but it is HARD.)

  • Cleaning your room/apartment/etc

  • Prayer and devotions

  • Self-care days

  • Staying active - daily walks, workout routines, yoga, etc.

  • Learn to cook/bake new things

  • Create new goals for yourself

  • Catch up with family and friends. Give them a call, send them a message. It means a lot more now than ever to see people checking in on you.

  • start a project (blog, business, side hustle, anything)


Even after it will be different, as a community, we have to work together to end this—social distance, whether we like it or not. Wear a mask. Focus on health.


To all the janitors, nurses, doctors, scientists, and grocery workers: Thank you so much for everything you have done, the hours you have put in to protect us. You are all heroes!


byeeee, <3

Gabrielle

Comments


bottom of page