top of page
Isabella Mederos

Breaking Fashion Myths W/ Isabella Mederos

How did you find your style, Izzy? I don’t know what I should or shouldn't wear? Two most common questions I get asked especially when shopping downtown walking up and down Michigan ave with friends in the evening. As Cliche as this sounds, wear what you want. I know you deep down want to wear that one outfit, but are afraid of what people are going to say. If people are going to share your post on instagram to their other friends making fun of your unique outfit. I struggled with that pressure to fit into a basic mold, to be a follower against the rest of the Chicago girls.To play it ”safe” with my fashion, safe isn't always bad but that's not who I want to be known as. And reading all of that you may ask, who are you? Who is this izzy persona and why are you giving me this advice? Well, call me your fashion guide, let me introduce myself. I'm Isabella Mederos. Most people call me Izzy for short, easy peasy. I'm a junior at Loyola Academy, and no I don't live in the suburbs. I run @MederosFashun, my current fashion inspiration account, my creative outlet. I'm the CEO of @Izzysfluff, my new up and coming handmade fluffy bag brand in the ChicagoLand Area. Enough about me, I’m now talking about something which is very controversial in the Fashion Industry, Fashion Myths. We all heard the classics, “Never mix Gold and Silver Jewelry”, “Don't wear white after Labor Day”, and my least favorite one Of ALL “ Clothes only fit you right if you're tall and skinny”, literally who the hell said that!!! I'm here today to break these so called “Fashion Myths”, and Instead enlighten you with alternatives. TRUTH is Rules are supposed to be broken. Today, consider these myths busted.

  1. Newer means better. That's not necessarily true, of course the newest clothes from The store are going to be the most in but shop for FIT not for Trend. Your bank account will thank me later. Not everything off The New Arrival rack will fulfill your style, but in fact drain your bank account. Instead, create a board I prefer on Pinterest where you can gather what you are looking for and head to somewhere magical I call the Thrift store. I bet you will find something similar or even the same as what you're looking for, for a more friendly budget. If it's worn already doesn't mean it's in bad shape or out of style, the item just needs a new home.Luxury consignment stores also are great, I recommend TheRealReal.

  2. Never clash Gold and Silver Jewelry together. In the past people would tell you, if you clash these two metals together it would look cheap and you have bad taste, which isn't true at all!!Personally, Gold looks better on me and I found that out over the year experimenting what looks good on my skin color, I find it compliments my skin better, see what works for you! My only advice about mixing the metals is that the two have a common style and match the detail of the look.

  3. YOU HAVE NOTHING TO WEAR! You are struggling to create an outfit to go out for brunch with your friends or for a party and you sit down in front of your closet looking at the so-called “empty closet” which is filled with clothes. Everyone has gone through this, and in reality you don't like your clothes because of how they either fit or you flat out think they aren't cute anymore. Spend a day donating or selling clothes you don't like or that dont fit you anymore, apps like Depop, Poshmark, and Mecari are perfect for selling those clothing pieces you once liked. Then, look for neutrals to help balance the outfit, neturals are tan, black and white pieces that help put together an outfit.

  4. Tall Women shouldn’t wear high heels. I unfortunately can’t relate to this myth but I sympathize for all my tall, model friends who feel insecure wearing heels at Homecoming, with the fear of being taller than their date. Heels aren’t just to boost your height but to make your legs look great, they are a universal shoe and can make any outfit have an extra boost of pizzaz. Why should tall women be only restricted to flats or shoes that won't boost their height a little. Be confident with your height and show it off, what I wish to be is a 5”10 girl walking down the street, everyone will turn their heads as you walk. So remember don’t slouch and use your height as an advantage you are hot!

  5. Certain clothes only look good if you are tall and skinny. I used to believe this myth, I would tear myself apart every time I looked in the mirror trying to compare myself to all the models with barely any fat on their bodies but i'm not trying to tear them down either, BECAUSE they are beautiful, I'm beautiful and YOU are beautiful. Whatever you feel comfortable in, sexy in and feel like I’m a hot biotch in, is made for you. SO what maybe you have a bigger stomach than others, wear that crop top crop and wear it confidently. Everytime, I pass a mirror I stare at myself and notice all the good I have, and that I'M A HOT BIOTCH. Express yourself the way you want and if someone has a comment on your style ignore it and keep doing what you're doing.



Comments


bottom of page