top of page
Gabrielle

International Baccalaureate (IB)

In my opinion, the most challenging exam in the world. You take six classes (three higher levels and three standard levels); out of those classes, you have sections you choose from:

language and literature

language acquisition

individuals and societies

sciences

mathematics

arts


Those are where you get the six subjects that you will take for the next two years. I chose:

  • H.L. physics.

  • H.L. Mathematics Analysis & Approaches.

  • H.L. computer science.

  • S.L. geography.

  • SL French (b).

  • S.L. in English Literature.


In each of those subjects, you are graded on a 1(lowest)-7(highest) scale and then marked out of 45. The extra three marks you have come from T.O.K. (theory of Knowledge) and your E.E. (Extended Essay). You also have to complete C.A.S.; however, that is the only thing that doesn't receive a grade.


In my opinion, the Theory of Knowledge is one of my favorite classes, especially with my teacher. You can say anything, and It basically can never be wrong. It is honestly just a class where you lay back and talk about life. Well, while still writing the occasional essays under a question that sometimes makes no sense. Your extended essay is another compulsory thing you are taking. It is a 4000-word essay about any topic you want. (preferably your higher levels).


My overall tip to you is to choose the classes you love. I am so far in the middle of the I.B. in my first year. The way you choose your classes is first the higher levels: choose your first higher level based on what you want to major in, for example, computer science. Your last two higher levels are determined based on what college you want to go to, and those two will help you get into the colleges. Your SL's should complement your life planning. For example, I chose geography to talk about world problems in discussions; I chose French to know another language; lastly, I chose English for essay writing. Everything should complement each other in a way.


One thing I learned is the I.B. overall will make you, but it will also break you. I started this course in August. It's December. Wish me luck!


Comments


bottom of page