top of page
Gabrielle

International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE)

The IGCSE is a two-year course you take in your freshman and sophomore years (y10 & y11). I go to an International school in Chicago, which is why I was allowed to handle this. The difference between regular classes, and this is that in this field, you take the following courses:

  • math

  • physics

  • biology

  • chemistry

  • social studies

  • language

  • art

  • English

  • C.A.S.E (creative, active, service, enrichment)

  • US studies

For two years, you are taking all three sciences at the same time while balancing your seven other subjects. You have four electives; I chose media, computer science, engineering and technology, and geography. I also chose the language, French.


I am starting with math! I highly recommend using YouTube, for example, khan academy, mainly, As well as HegartyMaths. They show you example problems and explain everything to you in the most straightforward ways, slowly and calmly(sometimes). It is mainly for studying for the exams or after the lesson when you need to go over what your teacher said and don't trust your notes. I think I used Khan academy the most, but Hegarty goes into more detail.


For the sciences! I took all the sciences, biology, chemistry, and physics under three different teachers. Each teacher taught another way, in my opinion. But in the end, I ended up getting an A in each class. The topics were in spec points that were around 20 + subjects in each. These were the websites I used per class that use the same spec points.



There are business, history, psychology, and geography; however, I can only help with geography. I ended up choosing that because it was one of my favorite courses, and I understood it better than the ones I took in middle school. I choose geography over the business because I took a business course for two summers somewhere else, and since I already had the background, I wanted to try something new.


For languages like French, I don't have a site that I can give you; however, I can tell you to watch your favorite movies in the language you are taking and listen to people talk on YouTube in French.


My arts were design technology and computer science. I chose these because I wanted to major in computer science and engineering. DO NOT DO DT UNLESS YOU WANT TO BUILD! In DT, it is mainly practical and theory. Where you build and learn. In that class, I created a charging machine and did a PowerPoint on how I made it. In computer science, it is all coding and theory like DT; you build something except in code and explain each line of code.

computer science: MCBrownCS on YouTube




Comentários


bottom of page